May Day Pursuit 2021

Tuesday, 4 May 2021 Off By stouty

Gusty and very wet; fluky with no winds; boats sailing backwards. A typical Trimpley day.

Five Lasers and four GPs battled against some frequently dreadful weather to contest the 2021 May Day Pursuit series.

In the first race Andy Allan took the Laser honours from Mike Dalziel and Ian Davis with Phil Pimble and Andy Blakeway in close contention. In the second race Phil Pimble left everyone in his wake with Mike Dalziel again the second place followed by Ian Davis , Andy Allan and Andy Blakeway.

A race off to decide the winner saw Phil take a solid lead but he was hauled back by Andy with Mike D very much in with a chance until a bad cramp attack forced him to retire. This left Andy Allan as the Laser champion.

The GPs had a similar exciting and close contest but Dave Beechey and Ian Patterson dominated and won the first two races and with it the title. Congratulations especially to Leslie Freeman and Brian Boardman for some excellent sailing closely followed by Keith Budden and Ben Roberts and Simon Fletcher with crew John Cookson.

A miserable, wet but enjoyable day, especially for those in the Race Hut.

Thanks to the Race Crew and especially Commodore Yeomans who remained positive and cheerful after three hours in a wet safety boat !

Thanks to Catherine for another batch of excellent photos.